Compare

CostCode compared: which tool does which job

A supplier invoice goes through four jobs before it's paid: getting it in, approving it, matching it to a purchase order, and checking its prices against what was agreed. Most tools do some of these and not others. CostCode is built for the last one: it checks every line against the price list you agreed with that supplier, and holds the invoices that are over, with the proof beside the original.

CostCode wrote this page, and CostCode is one of the tools on it. What the others do is taken from their own public pages, linked beside each statement, as they read on 30 Sep 2026. Where their pages don't say, neither do we. The tools are listed alphabetically with CostCode last, and the order isn't a ranking. If something here is out of date, tell us at hello@costcode.co and we'll fix it.

Job by job

Each job on a supplier invoice, and what each tool's own pages say about it, checked 30 Sep 2026. CostCode's column is what CostCode does today.
JobDextHubdocLentuneLightyearCostCode
Getting invoices inDextLists mobile scanning, email and upload, fetching invoices, and syncing with bank feeds. (source: Dext (Australia) home page)HubdocLists mobile photos, desktop upload, email and scanning, with syncing to Xero and QuickBooks Online. (source: Hubdoc: Pricing (Australia chosen in its region menu))LentuneLists AI-powered invoice capture and data extraction. (source: Lentune home page)LightyearLists its own email address for suppliers to send bills to, upload from your desktop, and a mobile app. (source: Lightyear: Full feature list)CostCodeReads each supplier invoice you upload, a PDF or a photo, line by line, to check it. It doesn't publish bills to your accounting software.
ApprovalsDextLists approving employee expenses in its mobile app. (source: Dext (Australia) home page)HubdocNot stated on the pages we checked.LentuneLists customisable approval workflows and audit trails. (source: Lentune home page)LightyearLists automated approval workflows on its Essentials plan. (source: Lightyear: Pricing (Australia))CostCodeA person approves each invoice for payment, in full or short, before it goes on the payment run, and held invoices wait on your dashboard for a person to decide. Optional: release limits per role, and a second person to approve a supplier's ABN or email and price list changes.
Purchase order matchingDextNot stated on the pages we checked.HubdocNot stated on the pages we checked.LentuneLists a three-way match with the PO and the delivery docket. (source: Lentune home page)LightyearLists 3-way purchase order matching on its Standard plan. (source: Lightyear: Pricing (Australia))CostCodeCostCode doesn't raise purchase orders. Import yours by CSV and an invoice billed past the PO, or quoting an unknown or closed one, is held for your team.
Checking prices against an agreed price listDextNot stated on the pages we checked.HubdocNot stated on the pages we checked.LentuneSays it checks the pricing on supplier invoices against what has been agreed and negotiated with suppliers. (source: Lentune home page)LightyearLists automatic price checking: each line's product code compared with the supplier's agreed price list. (source: Lightyear: Full feature list)CostCodeChecks each line against the price list that was in force on the invoice date, including price breaks, and holds a line only when it's at least $25 and 3% over (both changeable).
PriceDextIts Australian pricing page shows A$33.58 a month billed yearly, or A$42 billed monthly, for 250 documents a month, excluding GST. (source: Dext: Pricing for businesses (Australia))HubdocWith Australia chosen, its pricing page shows A$15 a month, with unlimited usage. (source: Hubdoc: Pricing (Australia chosen in its region menu))Xero's App Store listing says it's included in Xero Starter, Standard and Premium plans. (source: Xero App Store (Australia): Hubdoc)LentuneViewed from Australia, its pricing page says a typical business starts from A$900 a month with unlimited users, plus a one-time implementation fee. It doesn't say whether that includes GST. (source: Lentune: Pricing)LightyearIts Australian pricing page shows Essentials at $155 a month for 125 credits and Standard at $255 a month for 250 credits. It doesn't say whether that includes GST. (source: Lightyear: Pricing (Australia))CostCodeFree for 20 invoices a month, no card and no contract. Paid plans from A$39 a month, by card, cancel any time. No GST is charged: we're not registered for GST.

What CostCode doesn't do

So it runs beside the tool that gets your invoices in and the one you pay from: the same invoice goes into both, and you pay the cleared ones the way you do now.

  • Connect to Xero or MYOB. Not yet: the payment run is a CSV or Excel file you pay from.
  • Capture receipts, expense claims or bank statements, or publish bills to your accounting software.
  • Reconcile supplier statements.
  • Not yet: CostCode doesn't compare the bank details printed on an invoice with earlier ones.
  • No security certification (such as ISO 27001) yet. Invoices are stored in Sydney; the security page says what we do.

Sources, checked 30 Sep 2026

Dext, Hubdoc, Lentune, Lightyear and Xero are trade marks of their owners, named here only to compare. CostCode isn't affiliated with any of them. Products change: each tool's own site is the authority on what it does today.

Got a supplier invoice handy? Check it now.

About ten seconds. No account. We don't keep the file.

Or start free: 20 invoices a month, no card