Dext vs Hubdoc for Australian trades and bookkeepers (2026)

Dext: Bookkeeping software: receipts, invoices and expenses captured and categorised, then synced to your accounting software. (source: Dext (Australia) home page)

Hubdoc: Document and data capture: bills and receipts in one place, with the key details made into transactions in Xero or QuickBooks Online. (source: Hubdoc home page)

CostCode publishes this page, and sells a product that runs beside both: it checks supplier invoice prices, and Dext and Hubdoc get the invoices in. What each of them does is taken from its own public pages (and, for Hubdoc, Xero's), linked beside each statement, as they read on 30 Sep 2026. Where their pages don't say, neither do we. If something here is out of date, tell us at hello@costcode.co and we'll fix it.

Side by side

Dext and Hubdoc, topic by topic, each from its own pages (Hubdoc's from Xero's too), checked 30 Sep 2026.
ItemDextHubdoc
Getting documents inDext: Lists mobile scanning, email and upload, fetching invoices, and syncing with bank feeds. (source: Dext (Australia) home page)Hubdoc: Lists taking photos on your mobile, uploading from your desktop, sending bills in by email, and scanning documents in. (source: Hubdoc: Pricing (Australia chosen in its region menu))
What it reads off an invoiceDext: Says its AI extracts the key data, categorises it and syncs it to your accounting software. (source: Dext (Australia) home page)Hubdoc: Says supplier names, amounts, invoice numbers and due dates are extracted, to create transactions in Xero and QuickBooks Online with the source document attached. (source: Hubdoc home page)
Each line of the invoiceDext: Lists line item extraction as an add-on: from A$28.50 a month, or pay as you go from A$0.70 a document, with some free credits in each plan. (source: Dext: Pricing for businesses (Australia))Hubdoc: Not stated on the pages we checked.
Supplier statementsDext: Lists supplier statement extraction as an add-on: upload a supplier's statement and it says it checks that every invoice and credit note lines up, pointing out gaps and duplicates. From A$28.50 a month, or pay as you go from A$0.70 a document. (source: Dext: Pricing for businesses (Australia))Hubdoc: Lists statements among the documents it extracts key data from, with bills, invoices and receipts. (source: Hubdoc: Pricing (Australia chosen in its region menu))
Accounting softwareDext: Says it connects with 36+ accounting platforms, including Xero, QuickBooks and Sage. (source: Dext: Accounting integrations (Australia))Hubdoc: Lists syncing to Xero and QuickBooks Online. (source: Hubdoc: Pricing (Australia chosen in its region menu))
Approvals and expensesDext: Lists submitting, tracking and approving employee expenses, mileage included, in its mobile app. (source: Dext (Australia) home page)Hubdoc: Not stated on the pages we checked.
Your bookkeeper or accountantDext: Says accountants and bookkeepers can submit documents on behalf of clients, using any of its upload methods. (source: Dext (Australia) home page)Hubdoc: Says you can give your accountant access to your account. (source: Hubdoc home page)
Checking each line against the price you agreedDext: Not stated on the pages we checked.Hubdoc: Not stated on the pages we checked.
PriceDext: Its Australian pricing page shows A$33.58 a month billed yearly (A$403 a year), or A$42 billed monthly, for 250 documents a month and 5 users, excluding GST. A slider raises the allowance. (source: Dext: Pricing for businesses (Australia))Hubdoc: With Australia chosen, its pricing page shows A$15 a month after a free trial, with unlimited usage. It doesn't say whether that includes GST. (source: Hubdoc: Pricing (Australia chosen in its region menu))
Free trialDext: Offers a free trial, with no payment details needed upfront. (source: Dext: Pricing for businesses (Australia))Hubdoc: Offers a free 30-day trial, no credit card needed. (source: Hubdoc: Pricing (Australia chosen in its region menu))

Dext may suit you if

You want the lines read off supplier invoices (an add-on), supplier statements matched to your invoices and credit notes (an add-on), or staff expenses approved in an app, on Xero, QuickBooks, Sage, MYOB or another platform Dext lists, and you're happy to pay by documents a month.

Hubdoc may suit you if

You're on Xero or QuickBooks Online and need each bill's supplier, amount, invoice number and due date captured with the document attached, at one monthly price with unlimited usage, or with your Xero plan if yours includes it.

What each costs at 50, 150 and 300 invoices a month

In AUD, as their pages showed them on 30 Sep 2026. Dext's prices exclude GST; Hubdoc's page doesn't say. Line items and supplier statements cost extra on Dext, as above.

Dext and Hubdoc prices at three invoice volumes, from their own pricing pages, checked 30 Sep 2026.
Invoices a monthDext, billed yearlyDext, billed monthlyHubdoc on its own
Invoices a month: 50Dext, billed yearly: A$33.58 a month (A$403 a year), 250 documentsDext, billed monthly: A$42 a month, 250 documentsHubdoc on its own: A$15 a month
Invoices a month: 150Dext, billed yearly: A$33.58 a month (A$403 a year), 250 documentsDext, billed monthly: A$42 a month, 250 documentsHubdoc on its own: A$15 a month
Invoices a month: 300Dext, billed yearly: A$39.88 a month (A$478.50 a year), 300 documentsDext, billed monthly: A$49.75 a month, 300 documentsHubdoc on its own: A$15 a month

Where CostCode fits

Dext and Hubdoc get a supplier invoice into your books. On the pages we checked, neither states a check of each line against the price you agreed with that supplier. That's the one job CostCode does:

  • Checks each line against the price list that was in force on the invoice date, including price breaks, and holds a line only when it's at least $25 and 3% over (both changeable).
  • Checks freight, fuel levies, waiting time, minimum loads and pallets against the charges you agreed.
  • A line with nothing to check against is shown as Unverified, with the reason. It's never marked as fine.
  • Drafts a query to the supplier that quotes only what they agreed to, or the duplicate. Supplier email starts switched off, and a person always presses send.

Keep capturing and publishing bills with Dext or Hubdoc as you do now. Send the same supplier invoices to CostCode too: upload the PDFs or photos, or forward the supplier's email to your organisation's CostCode address. Then pay the cleared ones from your bank or accounts package the way you do now.

CostCode beside either: Free for 20 invoices a month, no card and no contract. Paid plans from A$39 a month, by card, cancel any time. No GST is charged: we're not registered for GST. See pricing.

What CostCode doesn't do

  • Connect to Xero or MYOB. Not yet: CostCode doesn't see the bills in Xero or change them, so each invoice goes into both, and the payment run is a CSV or Excel file you pay from.
  • Capture receipts, expense claims or bank statements, or publish bills to your accounting software.
  • Reconcile supplier statements.
  • Not yet: CostCode doesn't compare the bank details printed on an invoice with earlier ones.
  • Say a price is right when it has nothing to check it against: that line shows as Unverified, with the reason, and is never marked as fine.

If neither suits you

If you're on Xero, check what your plan already includes before paying for a capture tool (see the notes under the cost table). If you need approvals, purchase orders or a price check as well as capture, which tool does which job sets out what each tool we compare lists on its own pages.

Questions

Is Hubdoc free with Xero in Australia?

Xero's App Store listing for Hubdoc says it's included in Xero Starter, Standard and Premium plans. Xero's Australian Hubdoc page now opens its Smart Document capture page, which says that feature is available on all Xero small business pricing plans with nothing extra to pay. On its own, Hubdoc's pricing page shows A$15 a month with Australia chosen. Check what your Xero plan includes before paying for a capture tool.

How much does Dext cost in Australia?

Dext's Australian pricing page shows A$33.58 a month billed yearly (A$403 a year), or A$42 billed monthly, for 250 documents a month and 5 users, excluding GST. At 300 documents its slider shows A$39.88 a month billed yearly (A$478.50 a year), or A$49.75 billed monthly, for 300 documents a month and 6 users. Line item extraction is an add-on, from A$28.50 a month or A$0.70 a document.

Do Dext and Hubdoc read each line of an invoice?

Dext lists line item extraction as an add-on, with some free credits in each plan. Hubdoc's home page says it extracts supplier names, amounts, invoice numbers and due dates; each line of the invoice isn't mentioned on the Hubdoc pages we checked. On a construction supplier's invoice, the lines are where a delivery fee, a fuel levy or waiting time sits beside the materials.

Do Dext or Hubdoc check the prices on a supplier invoice?

Not on the pages we checked: neither states a check of each line against the price you agreed with that supplier. Dext's supplier statement add-on says it checks that the invoices and credit notes on a supplier's statement line up, which is a different check. Checking each line against the price list you agreed is what CostCode does, and it runs beside either.

Does either one work with MYOB?

Dext's Australian site has a Dext for MYOB page, which says Dext scans receipts and invoices and sends them straight into MYOB. Hubdoc's pricing page names Xero and QuickBooks Online; MYOB isn't mentioned on the Hubdoc pages we checked.

Does CostCode replace Dext or Hubdoc?

No. CostCode doesn't capture receipts, handle expense claims or publish bills to your accounting software, and it doesn't connect to Xero or MYOB yet. It checks supplier invoices against the prices you agreed and runs beside whichever capture tool you use: the same invoice goes into both, and you pay the cleared ones the way you do now.

Sources, checked 30 Sep 2026

Dext, Hubdoc and Xero are trade marks of their owners, named here only to compare. CostCode isn't affiliated with any of them. Products change: their own sites are the authority on what they do today.

Got a supplier invoice handy? Check it now.

About ten seconds. No account. We don't keep the file.

Or start free: 20 invoices a month, no card